Traffic Safety-Bikeways-Pedestrian Committee

For Upcoming Meeting Agendas, click here for the Meeting Materials

 Position   Member   *Indicates Cycling Advocate   Term Ends 
 1 Brenda Lamb  12/31/25
 2 Hersch Sangster*   12/31/25
 3 Michael De Blasi*  12/31/26
 4  Tammy Saldivar  12/31/24
 5  David Philbrick  12/31/26
 6  David Dempster*  12/31/24
 7 Matt Myers  12/31/26
Robert Husseman, Council Liaison
Ethan Eggert - Youth Liaison (non-voting)   08/2024
Mike Griffin, Staff Liaison 
OPEN - Police Liaison 

Resolution 2023-3403 for this Committee

Purpose:  To act in an advisory capacity to the Keizer City Council and City Manager in the creation, development and implementation of official traffic safety activities, including bikeways and pedestrian routes, and to make recommendations on projects and practices that improve safety, efficiencies and choices for transportation mode options.  The powers and duties of the Committee shall include, but are not limited to: 

  1. Develop, prioritize, and recommend coordinated traffic safety programs. 
  2. Develop recommendations for inclusion in the Bicycle System component of the Keizer Transportation System Plan, including an assessment of the need for bikeways, recommended routes with costs and priorities, proposed funding sources, and implementation program. 
  3. Proactively recommend traffic safety priorities for the City. 
  4. Review and recommend project applications for funding (e.g. Safe Routes to School, Connect Oregon, other bike/ pedestrian funding competitions). 
  5. Serve in a liaison capacity between the City and the Oregon Traffic Safety Commission in developing the statewide highway safety program and in meeting National Highway Safety Program Standards. 
  6. Provide traffic and transportation-related research and information to official agencies of the City. 
  7. Coordinate and disseminate information to the public on routes and rules for bicyclists, pedestrians, and transit. 
  8. Promote public knowledge and compliance with traffic safety programs and laws and emerging issues (e.g. policy development on issues like e-bikes and autonomous vehicles).
  9. Promote expanding transportation options that increase safety, efficiency, health, and independence. 
  10. Provide an annual written or oral report of its activities to the Council and other reports which the Council may request from time to time. 

Membership:  The Committee shall consist of seven (7) voting members.  At least two (2) of the voting members shall be bicycle enthusiasts and actively engaged in recreational and/or commuter bicycling.  Liaisons from the City Council, City staff and representatives from Marion County Fire District #1 and Keizer Fire District shall serve as non-voting ex officio liaisons. The Mayor will appoint the non-voting Council liaison to the Committee and will make such announcement at a regularly scheduled Council meeting.  The non-voting Fire District representatives shall be appointed by the Districts.  The non-voting staff liaison will be appointed by the City Manager.  The Council may appoint a non-voting Youth liaison to the Committee pursuant to the Council Rules of Procedure.  Other members shall be appointed as outlined by the City Council Rules of Procedure, except for the initial selection which shall be by City Council appointment.
Term of Office:  Each member of the Committee shall be appointed for a three-year term, except for initial terms which shall be staggered.  Members may be reappointed.    The terms shall be staggered so that not more than three will expire in the same year.
Chair and Vice-Chair:  The Committee will elect the Chair and Vice-Chair at the first meeting of each calendar year.
Meetings:  Members of the committee shall establish a regular meeting date and shall meet as deemed necessary by the Chair.  All meetings of the Committee shall follow Robert Rules of Order Newly Revised and the Oregon Public Meeting Laws.
Attendance:  It is the duty of each member to attend at least 75% of the meetings each calendar year.  When a member is unable to attend a meeting, the member shall notify the Chair.  Members of the Committee may be removed by two-thirds majority vote of the City Council.